Principles of Concealed Carry

Upcoming Class Dates:

TBD - Keep checking back, as new classes get scheduled!

The class will consist of approximately 2 hours of classroom instruction and conclude with approximately 2 hours of range instruction.  The classroom portion will cover various topics relating to the safe handling and shooting of firearms, proper care of firearms, mindset, reciprocity, holsters and accessories, escalation of force, disparity of force, lethal force, applying for a permit, permit fees, permit renewal, and more.  The range portion of the class will include professional instruction of how to safely handle and shoot a firearm, stance, grip, sight alignment, sight picture, trigger control, follow through, and more.

We will provide firearms and ammunition, but feel free to bring your own as long as it is in serviceable condition.  Be sure that your firearms are UNLOADED before you show up.

Below is a list of items you will want to bring and/or be prepared to have:

  • Note pad, and pen/pencil
  • Clothing suited to outdoor activities as well as being seasonally appropriate
  • No low cut tops, ejecting brass is HOT and will burn the skin on contact
  • Hat (recommended but not required)
  • Appropriate foot wear (the shooting range is gravel/soft earth)
  • Rain gear / Cold weather gear (seasonal)
  • Ear Protection (we will provide ear plugs if you need them)
  • Eye Protection - i.e. safety glasses, ANSI certified, Oakleys (we will provide safety glasses to those that need them)  No fashion sunglasses, please!
  • Water and/or Snacks
  • Insect Repellent
  • Sunscreen
  • An open mind
Cost is $60 per person*

Upon successful completion of the course, each participant will receive a bona fide Certificate of Completion that will be valid at any Circuit Court Clerk's office in the Commonwealth of Virginia (and various other states).  The Certificate of Completion is one of many different forms that serve as proof of "handgun competency" as defined in Section 18.2-308.02 of Virginia Code.  Please refer to the FAQ link below for further questions.  Participants will receive detailed instruction on the proper procedure for applying for a VA Concealed Handgun Permit during the class.

CLICK HERE - Virginia State Police FAQs for Concealed Handgun Permits

*The cost of the class does NOT include the fee that will be charged by the Circuit Court Clerk's office of the city/county that you reside in.  However, please be advised that by law the Circuit Court Clerk's office may NOT charge more than $50 per applicant (that includes the application fee and VA State Police background check) total.

We also offer one on one classes, please e-mail to inquire.